Akufo-Addo suspends four High Court Justices

The president, Nana Akufo-Addo has on the advice of the Judicial Council suspended four Justices of the High Court.

The suspension of justices Uuter Paul Dery, Justice Mustapha Logoh, Mr. Justice Gilbert Ayisi Addo and Justice Charles Quist is to take immediate effect, a statement signed by the Director of Communications at the presidency Eugene Arhin has said.

The suspension follows the establishment of a prima facie case against the four Justices, by the Committee set up by the Chief Justice to investigate alleged acts of bribery and corruption against certain persons, including the four Justices, as contained in the 29th August, 2015 petition of Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

The four Justices have been notified of the President’s decision.

At least 34 judges were implicated in the biggest corruption scandal in the country’s judiciary.

In an investigative piece that lasted for about two years, Anas Aremeyaw Anas caught the judges on camera trading justice for goats, sheep, and other rewards.

The jaw-dropping revelations got the country talking for months with many criticizing the judiciary as the most corrupt institution.

The then Chief Justice Georgina Wood constituted an investigation into the matter and dismissed magistrates who admitted to taking money and other rewards to dispense justice.

Some of the High Court judges were strongly against the publication of the content of the investigation carried out by Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

They were also unhappy with the Chief Justice Committee which established a prima facie against them.

Two of the judges, including Uuter Dery proceeded to court to challenge the decision taken by the committee to suspend them but the court threw out the case.

Source: myjoyonline.com

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
%d bloggers like this: